//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Back to Cebu – 2013 Ironman 70.3 Philippines

I’m here in Mactan Island for the second staging of the Cebu Ironman 70.3. I arrived yesterday Friday late afternoon as I had work duties to attend to. As usual, it was a flurry of activities to get to the airport. I had to pack my stuff and gear, go through the Friday traffic, worry about getting parking space in Terminal 3.
Fortunately, everything turned out well. Traffic wasn’t so bad, I was able to get parking space (with help from the maintenance guys at the parking lot), and was able to check in peacefully at the Cebu Pacific counter, with kilos to spare.
One thing I noticed is that this is the year of the bike bags. As I landed in Cebu, and waited for my bike in the baggage carousel, mine was the only naked bike box. In any case, I zipped through the airport, found my suki driver waiting, and we proceeded to the Sabak bike guys in Shangrila where they were setup. My bike was assembled quickly and was able to test drive it before dark.These guys provide a bike packing service, where they pack the bike in Manila, assemble it in Cebu, pack it after the race, and assemble it back in Manila. Nice service I would say,
We woke up this morning with strong rain and thunder. In the twitter feed, I saw that they canceled part of the Ironkids race this morning. I hope it doesn’t get that bad tomorrow.
Registration this morning was also a breeze. One thing new is the body marking which they do before race day, using Tattoo stickers. This is a welcome improvement as it removes one less activity to do on race morning.

20130803-122556.jpg

Body marking using Tattoo Stickers.

I also tried the Gatorade hyrdation test at the Expo. My tests show that I am borderline hydrated. TIme to drink up. No wonder my lips are dry.

 
20130803-122631.jpg
Gatorade booth at the Ironman Expo
20130803-122649.jpg

Urine test to determine hydration state

Next up – bike prep and gear checkin. Maybe do some swim and running.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Back to Cebu – 2013 Ironman 70.3 Philippines

  1. wow, good luck! i didn’t realize you were doing cebu. i txt’d you this morning for a run at dasma. hope everything goes well with the race.

    Posted by jojo | August 4, 2013, 9:07 pm
  2. Dear Mr. Groundhog,

    Thanks! Why do the participants join IRONMAN every year?

    Posted by hannah | August 6, 2013, 5:09 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Categories

Top Clicks

  • None

Archive

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
