//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Marathon Recovery

One week after HK marathon, my legs are fully recovered and can begin to think of joining next year’s edition. I thought the whole experience was a lot of fun. But first I must write something about recovery.
I couldn’t bend my left knee right after the run, up until Monday afternoon. The physical therapist, at the end of the race, said it was most probably because I did not do enough stretching before the run. So this is something I need to remember. It was a good thing I brought with me a pack of Ibuprofen which helped speed up recovery.
The hotel staff was kind enough to volunteer a bucket of ice but I wasn’t able to use it because I didn’t have an ice bag, something which needs to be part of the kit next year.
Of course, post-race nutrition is important, courtesy of room service late lunch burger and dinner buffet in the evening.
The best thing for recovery was definitely the Thai massage I got along Wan Chai street the following monday. The therapist felt the tightness in my legs and proceeded to knead it, with me screaming all the while.
Afterwards I could walk a little more straight, can walk down the stairs more normally. I took the flight to Manila the next day. Straight to the office, and back to reality.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Marathon Recovery

  1. sir, suggestion lang next time try nyo ilagay sa plastic bag ang ice tapos cover nyo nalang ng towel kung walang ice bag. Good model employee pala kayo-back to work next day!

    Posted by ton | February 18, 2012, 9:09 pm
  2. Hi, reading from your blog I got that you were alone when you joined the marathon? You were a brave soul, hopefully next time you would already have a companion to be with you (Ecclesiates 4: 9-10) but God was still good for providing the kindness of strangers.

    Keep on…

    Posted by afri | February 20, 2012, 9:26 pm
  3. Hi, Mr. Groundhog! I look forward in reading more of your blog(even if it may not be about triathlon) .

    Posted by elphie | March 1, 2012, 9:45 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Categories

Top Clicks

  • None

Archive

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  
