//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Road to Camsur: Globe Run for Home 21K

With 5 weeks to go before Camsur, the Globe Run for Home 21K race was the perfect tune-up run race. I have not been able to do the full distance on training, so this seemed like a good opportunity to do so.
The race started at 5am with a big crowd of 21K runners. I heard that there were more 21K runners than 10K runners, proof that 21K is indeed the new 10K, as Levy had previously observed. It was indeed a fun race going through the Makati Business District, with a run pack that was pretty fast. I was 1:03 at the 10K mark, and eventually finished in 2:19, decent enough for me. With timing chips and all, the race had pretty awesome race results summaries. Here is mine.
One of the reasons for joining the race is so that I would be able to run the full distance. I had wondered, in the training plan I’m following, why the full run distance was not covered. In the case of the swim and bike portions, the full distance can be covered, with 50-60 minutes of swimming, and 3-3.5 hours of biking. But the time allotment for the run is only up to 1.75 hours, not enough to do 21K (not yet).
Well, recovering from yesterday’s 21K race, I know why the training plan doesn’t cover the 21K. Unlike swimming and biking, running really destroys the body, such that it just takes longer  for the body to recover, considering the training schedule to follow.
This is true even for bike-to-run transitions (bricks). The plan only allows 15 min bricks. I’m always tempted to do a one-hour or more brick (which I was doing last year). Reading up on most triathlon literature, however, the advise is only to do up to 45 minutes brick, as the most important thing is to get the body to be accustomed to running of the bike (at this point, something my body isn’t yet doing). I guess the reason for wanting to do the full distance is to gain the confidence that it can be done come race time.
It’s exactly 5 weeks to go before Camsur. This is where the training goes on overdrive, before the final taper. Looking forward to enjoying the race, come August 23.

RFH-01572_xxx13_5172_5192_4533With 5 weeks to go before Camsur, the Globe Run for Home 21K race was the perfect tune-up run race. I have not been able to do the full distance on training, so this seemed like a good opportunity to do so.

The race started at 5am with a big crowd of 21K runners. I heard that there were more 21K runners than 10K runners, proof that 21K is indeed the new 10K, as Levy had previously observed. It was indeed a fun race going through the Makati Business District, with a run pack that was pretty fast. I was 1:03 at the 10K mark, and eventually finished in 2:19, decent enough for me. With timing chips and all, the race had pretty awesome race results summaries, and cool photos too. Here is my results summary. It basically tells me I’m a middle of the pack runner (or more acccurately, back-of-the-middle-pack hehe).

One of the reasons for joining the race is so that I would be able to run the full distance. I had wondered, in the training plan I’m following, why the full run distance was not covered. In the case of the swim and bike portions, the full distance can be covered, with 50-60 minutes of swimming, and 3-3.5 hours of biking. But the time allotment for the run is only up to 1.75 hours, not enough to do 21K (not yet).

Well, recovering from yesterday’s 21K race, I know why the training plan doesn’t cover the 21K. Unlike swimming and biking, running really destroys the body, such that it just takes longer  for the body to recover, considering the training schedule to follow.

This is true even for bike-to-run transitions (bricks). The plan only allows 15 min bricks. I’m always tempted to do a one-hour or more brick (which I was doing last year). Reading up on most triathlon literature, however, the advise is only to do up to 45 minutes brick, as the most important thing is to get the body to be accustomed to running of the bike (at this point, something my body isn’t yet doing). I guess the reason for wanting to do the full distance is to gain the confidence that it can be done come race time.

It’s exactly 5 weeks to go before Camsur. This is where the training goes on overdrive, before the final taper. Looking forward to enjoying the race, come August 23.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Road to Camsur: Globe Run for Home 21K

  1. Jomz,
    Id be glad to accompany you on your 3 hour bike/training this Saturday. Just text me Sir!

    Posted by jla | July 28, 2009, 8:02 am
  2. Congrats! My long distance this past weekend was 22K and it almost killed me. It’s Manila weather here in Chicago and I was so lazy waking up, I ended up running in the unholy hours of 11am-to-past-1pm. You’re right about the “destroys the body” bit. Next time you go running, you can find solace in the thought that another equally-crazed pinoy half-way around the world is killing himself too! Next weekend long-run’s upped to 24K. Good to luck to us!

    Posted by Jojo | July 29, 2009, 2:24 am

Leave a Reply

Pages

Categories

Top Clicks

  • None

Archive

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
