//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Ironman Weekend

The Ford Ironman Championships in Kona, Hawaii happened last Saturday, with our very own Ani de Leon competing and finishing with a time of 12:07:18. She’s the first Filipino to qualify and to finish the Ironman race.

Craig Alexander, last year’s second-placer, finished first in the men’s division, while Chrissie Wellington, was first in the women’s group. We can take pride in Chrissie Wellington because she has been training with team TBB right here in the heat and humidity of Subic.

I did my own teeny-weeny Ironman version by running the 21K race in the Adidas King of the Road Race last Saturday, and joining the sprint triathlon in Alabang the next day.

The KOTR race is something of a must-run for me, perhaps because it’s one of the few local long-distance running races. It’s a pity that it had to be scheduled one week after White Rock, and the day before Alabang Tri. I was just really recovering the whole week, not doing any swim, bike or run at all. Well in any case I just decided last minute that Friday to run, upon prodding (just a little) by Jerome.

I tried to be there early for the race, but a long line at the parking caused me to be late. By the time I arrived at the starting line, the clock was already counting 8 minutes since. I hurried to catch up, and was briefly joined by another late-comer, Fiona of Polo Tri, who promptly ran past me.

I managed to catch up with some runners upon reaching Buendia. Further on, I got a good glimpse of the runners already heading back from the turn-around, with a lot of familiar tri-faces leading the way.

At the water stations, they were handing out 100Plus drinks by the bottle, which seemed a waste as people would just take a sip and throw it away. Good thing I was with my fuel belt, and didn’t feel the need to take one. It was a lifesaver too as the 21K aid stations ran out of water (again!). 

Somewhere after the heritage park turnaround, I caught up with Jerome, who was pausing to take his favorite Cobra drink🙂 From there we ran together until the finish. My time – about 2:30 (after subtracting 8 minutes from the official clock🙂. 

Feeling sore and tired at the finish line, I told Jerome straightaway that no way are we joining next day’s triathlon. It’s funny how everything changes after feeling recovered. Several hours and couple of text messages later, it was a go for the tri.

Alabang Tri is another must-run for me, because of its proximity and also because it’s like a tri-homage to the place where I started tri-ing.

We had time that morning for some pre-race briefing, with Coach Rick Reyes making sure we understood the Ocho-ocho bike route.Fewer athletes this time, perhaps because of the schedule, but a lot of first-timers.

Anyway I felt like I was going through the motions of the swim, bike and run. I did feel kind of tired and slow, but had just enough energy to complete the race. Can’t really complain with my time of 2:27🙂

Congratulations to all the winners, especially to fellow TRIplet Levy Ang, another podium finish!🙂

 

Watch Ani’s finish here (link from Ria V): 

Alabang sprint tri results here.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Ironman Weekend

  1. You are ONE CRAZY IRONMAN🙂 Clark Duathlon naman to make it an IRONMAN MONTH.

    Posted by levyang | October 13, 2008, 2:44 pm
  2. ibang level kayo TRIplets!🙂 i am zo proud to be your tyanak/manedyer!😀 tibay mo jomaw!

    Posted by marga | October 13, 2008, 9:37 pm
  3. jomaw le’vi margo, lets do anvaya tri!

    overnite sat for the race the following
    day nov23 sunday. not ur regular tri,
    sprint sya pero *killer* hills daw, ala-
    puntafuego…ano, game??! 😀

    -butch

    Posted by butch | October 15, 2008, 6:48 am
  4. ay naku sayang pinatubo trek namin nyan e😦

    Posted by marga | October 15, 2008, 6:38 pm
  5. Butch
    it seems the dreaded Open Water swim will come in earlier than expected. let me think ok? Ill see what I can do to prep for that.

    Jomz, Basta COBRAHHHHH. Dah Best. Di mo ba nahalata nabuhay ako after a swig of that el cheapo drink?

    jla

    Posted by jerome | October 17, 2008, 7:57 pm
  6. As I told you last week at Alabang, you are either crazy or normal and you know which one I think you are. You dont even have to think about the race with Butch in November, since when do you need to prep for any races mr more than ironman ha ha ha It was great seeing you again, God bless

    Posted by Philip | October 21, 2008, 4:11 pm
  7. Congrats to my cousin!
    Please share and comment: http://franciscotatad.blogspot.com/

    Posted by Jan Ong | October 28, 2008, 4:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Categories

Top Clicks

  • None

Archive

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
