//
you're reading...
Triathlon

Fontana sprint tri

Bikes lined up before the start

Last Sunday (July 6) I joined the Fontana Sprint Tri. It was just barely 2 weeks since I went down with a bad case of flu, which forced me to stay 5 days in bed. Within that time, my tune-up for this race consisted of 3 sessions of 1km swims, and 2 sessions of 20km bike/ 5k runs. Really, my intention was just to survive this race.

Well survive I did, barely. I went with Jerome, doing his first tri, and Butch, who’s busy preparing for O3 and went along to provide support. We met up 4am at Burger King Quezon Avenue, secured our bikes in the bike rack and went off. Pre-race meal consisted of KFC chicken at the Shell station in NLEX. We arrived at Fontana with plenty of time to prepare and to limber up for the race start at 8am.

As usual, being in the 31-40 age group, we were in the 4th and last wave, which meant we were going to be the last persons out of the pool hehe. My recurring thought during the swim portion: I’ll be more serious in my swim training, I’ll be more serious…hehe. My swim time: around 28 min for the 800m swim.

Then it was off to the bike. It was a friendly bike route, going around a 10k loop 3 times, and in the process watching the strong bikers whiz by me on their 2nd or 3rd loop. This is one of the hazards of being in the last wave: the loneliness on the bike route! Well, I have my excuse for the bike portion: my cyclometer stopped because it got wet in the rain, so I didn’t know how fast to maintain my 30kph target. Well the rain did stop, the sun came out, and my cyclometer got dry enough to finally start – on the last half of the final loop. My time – 1:10 for the 30 km bike.

Post-race interview (naks) with eager tri newbies Edward and Chelo

Finally the run. At least I still had plenty of company as it was an out-and-back route. I managed to finish 5k run in 32 min.

It was a fun experience, enjoying the camaraderie of the participants, the after race meal and the awarding. Next race: O3 in Aug 2 (but only doing the O1).

For a detailed race report, click here.
For the race results, click here.
Photos can be found here and here and here.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Fontana sprint tri

  1. Nice blog joma, I especially enjoyed the one where you met the pope🙂 kitakits sa 01

    Posted by levyang | July 9, 2008, 11:04 am
  2. Pare nice detailed account of the event ha. Tama ka, the bike part was really lonely for backmarkers like me. post mo naman pics natin. padala ko ha. wag lang yung nakahubad ako.

    jla

    Posted by Jerome | July 9, 2008, 12:51 pm
  3. Thanks Levy, see you at O1, btw if I’m not mistaken you’re the guy in the Desoto outfit, right. Pareho kasi tayo hehe.
    Jerome, sige padala mo lang link ng pics natin. Wala tayong pic dun sa album ni thumbie, kulelat kasi e🙂

    Posted by Joma | July 9, 2008, 2:41 pm
  4. kuya! nice site ha..got lot of pics pa from papa’s cam. kung anu2 pinagkukuha nun. bigay nalang ako ng cd para may copy kayu..see you soon! goodluck with 01!!

    mga idol ko nga pala kayo. hahaha..
    just so you know. =)

    Posted by chelo | July 18, 2008, 10:26 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Categories

Top Clicks

  • None

Archive

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
