//
you're reading...
Triathlon

Subic Triathlon 2008

Last Sunday I managed to complete my second Olympic distance triathlon. I struggled at the swim, and did a decent bike and run, good enough to land me at the bottom 15! I finished with a time of 3 hours, 40 minutes, but I guess the most important part was that I was able to do it feeling comfortable the whole time.

We set out for Subic on Saturday afternoon and arrived early evening. We spent the night fixing our stuff, attaching the race numbers and energy gels on the bikes. We woke up at 4am, went to the transition area, and had ourselves body-marked.

Our wave at the swim portion started at 6:40 am. This was the biggest wave, the 30-39 age group. It was a chaos at the start, with about 80 bodies trying to hurtle past each other. I was a bit disoriented on the first loop, choking on seawater, and feeling my heart rate race up because I didn’t warm up. I felt better on the second loop as everyone settled at their own pace, which for me meant being at the last. By this time, the last wave consisting of the women, had also started. As I floundered through the waters, I could see female bodies gliding past me. At least I still had company. Mercifully, I emerged out of the sea after 49 minutes.

By this time, I was at the end of my age group wave, and practically joining the women’s group. Same story here, I felt what it was to literally eat dust as the women athletes sped past me. In any case, the bike was best part for me. It was a good thing that we had scouted the route a week before.  At least I knew when the uphill stage was going to be over. It was pure pleasure going downhill, as we were racing down at speeds up 55 kph. I finished the 40K bike in 1 hour 37 minutes, with just enough energy to finish the 10k run in 1 hour 13 min.

From subictri08

Race results can be seen here:

More pictures here: http://arnik.multiply.com/photos/album/14/SUBIC_INTERNATIONAL_TRIATHLON_2008_40_photos

http://www.flickr.com/photos/nikilangit/sets/72157605023926126/

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Subic Triathlon 2008

  1. Well… you completed an OD! Well done! Points for effort!

    Posted by iamspidermonkey | May 14, 2008, 5:24 pm
  2. you didnt mention in your blog that half the bike course was rolling terrain with a 5-km
    climb towards the bike turnaround… so ur bike split is pretty strong, not bad for corporate serfs/drones slash try-athletes like us 😀

    Posted by butch | May 14, 2008, 9:50 pm
  3. Thanks iamspider, are you also doing an OD?

    Posted by Joma | May 15, 2008, 5:53 pm
  4. Oh. I wished I had the balls to try an OD. I’m still recovering from some sports injuries, so I’m off running. Hoping to do Sprints. *fingers crossed*

    Posted by iamspidermonkey | May 29, 2008, 5:30 pm
  5. would you mind telling us where the event was held? do you have any idea if it will held at the same area this year?

    Posted by Graco | March 3, 2009, 10:39 pm
  6. Hi Graco,
    The Subic triathlon is usually held at the boardwalk area of Subic. The bike part is either going to binictican or up the hills midway towards Ocean Adventure. The run just goes around several loops around the SBMA area. Are you joining this year?

    Posted by groundhogdude | March 4, 2009, 10:11 am

Leave a Reply

Pages

Categories

Top Clicks

  • None

Archive

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
