//
you're reading...
Manila guide

How to get an NBI clearance

Carriedo sights 2

Note (Mar 12, 2010) – According to one of our readers: this NBI IN QUIAPO-CARRIEDO IS NOW CLOSED. The new one is on the 5th floor of Victory Mall in Monumento. Thanks girlmace for the tip.

Last Friday, I went to the NBI office in Carriedo to get an NBI clearance. This is a document which certifies that you do not have a criminal record, or if you have the misfortune of sharing a name with somebody who has, then it certifies that you are not that person (hopefully).

Now the last time I got an NBI clearance was 15 years ago, and all I have are dreadful memories of half-a-day of lining up, in the pre-cellphone days of having to wait and doing absolutely nothing, and having to come back one week later to claim the document.

Not wanting to go through it again, I somehow managed to evade eventual requirements of submitting an NBI clearance every time I move to a new company. However, this being a requirement for an upcoming trip to Belgium, I had no choice but to get a new one. A simple renewal would not be possible because of the length of time since my last clearance.

So off I went to Carriedo, expecting the worst. Time in – 9:00 am, time out – 9:25 am. I had prepared for a half-day of waiting, but came out in 25 minutes, carrying my freshly printed clearance, complete with picture. Yes, if you go there early, you could get your clearance in that amount of time or less.

NBI Office CarriedoFirst task was to look for parking. I did manage to find one in the area below the Quiapo bridge, with parking attendants carrying official parking tickets, at 30 pesos per car. Next step, look for the NBI office in Carriedo. Having been to Carriedo before, I trudged through the Friday crowd of church-goers, ignoring the calls of herbal vendors selling their herbs (I probably looked like their typical male customer judging on the insistence of their calls). Fortunately, I immediately saw a bright yellow sign indicating the NBI Carriedo Clearance Office.

The office itself was on the 3rd and 4th floor of a rundown building, passing through two floors of cellphone accessories vendors. Directional signs make it easy to get to the NBI office, but you can also follow the path of vendors selling black ballpens at 10 pesos each. I was amused to hear a recording playing again and again, blurting something like “bili na kayo ng black ballpen, kelengan black ballpen ang gamit sa NBI clearance…” As you shall see later, this is the first of a series of (subtle) attempts to make money off you. So first lesson, bring a black ballpen (not sure if it really has to be black, but mine was black anyway, so..)

A long line greeted me at the entrance. This was to pay a so-called facilities fee for the upkeep of the place, the air-conditioning, etc. At 20 pesos, it seemed a reasonable amount. The line was quick; I gave the money and made sure to keep the receipt.

Next step, get a form from the information counter. Then line up immediately on any of the lines for payment. It does not matter whether it is for a new clearance or renewal. You can fill up the form while lining up. The amount to be paid will depend on the purpose, whether travel or employment. In my case, which was travel, I was assessed 115 pesos. Again, make sure to keep your receipt.

Next, go up the 4th floor for the data check. Here the clerk simply checks completeness of your form. In my case, i was told to complete the entry I had filled up under Purpose: from “TRAVEL” to “TRAVEL ABROAD”. Well, no arguing that; I suppose the additional word really mattered.

After this is the actual database check where your name is entered in the database and checked for any matches. Fortunately I had none, so off I go up another floor.

Next step is the fingerprinting. This has got to be the most interesting part. Each finger is pressed on an rectangular ink pad, the clerk expertly guiding your fingers from the pad to the application form, transforming your initial awkwardness to dexterity once you get the hang of it. He gives each one a small pack afterwards, containing an alcohol-soaked paper towel, effective in completely removing the ink from your fingers, in the process discretely advising you to drop 4 pesos on his desk for this service.  A really good idea since the previous option as I remembered it was to wipe it off a rag or something. Later, I found another clerk selling it for 2 pesos. That got me thinking: this means that the first guy must be making 3 pesos for every pack; multiply that by 500 persons per day, that’s 1, 500 pesos per day, 7,500 pesos per week, 30,000 pesos per month. Talk about the fortune at the bottom of the pyramid.

Next step, taking your photo. This is really quite fast: the clerk motions you to stare at the web camera, and off you go to the last step to get your clearance. Just present your receipt (never misplace your receipts!) and presto, your clearance is printed right there and then in front of you.

So there you go, getting an NBI clearance wasn’t the unpleasant experience I was dreading it to be, but rather a refreshing experience which proves that the government offices can deliver good services if they really want to.

Discussion

47 thoughts on “How to get an NBI clearance

  1. Hehehe.. Good thing you share this pare..

    Posted by emorales | January 24, 2008, 3:56 pm
  2. Hehe kuha ka rin ba?

    Posted by Joma | January 24, 2008, 3:58 pm
  3. Thanks for sharing. I need to get one when I get home. I have an old clearance (2004) but I’m married now so I need to change status and perhaps my last name (if no requirements other than authenticated MC).

    Posted by nina | June 24, 2008, 3:46 pm
  4. This post may be old, but it’s still very accurate and it helped me a lot. Thanks for sharing this, I had a better idea of what to expect and go through. I was lucky enough to line up at the clerk selling the 2-peso-moist-towelletes. Haha.

    Posted by sofia | July 10, 2008, 4:15 pm
  5. Hi Sofia, thanks for dropping by. Yeah I found the whole process so fascinating that I had to write it in the blog. Glad you found it useful :-)

    Posted by Joma | July 10, 2008, 4:22 pm
  6. Thanks for this post ;) makes me think my Friday won’t be as bad as I previously thought… but what about namesakes, I think there are plenty of people with the same name as mine. As long as we have different middle names ba, I shouldn’t get a hit naman?…

    Posted by cathy | July 15, 2008, 9:40 am
  7. Hi Cathy, yeah don’t worry too much about getting a hit, they do consider the middle name :-)

    Posted by Joma | July 15, 2008, 10:29 am
  8. I got my NBI clearance two weeks ago. The recording is still playing and I can’t help but laugh when I heard it. I was lucky to pay P2 only for the wipes but they also charge me P5 for the small brown envelope (intended for the clearnce) – good business isn’t it?

    Posted by nina | August 3, 2008, 6:21 pm
  9. sir/madame,

    I am working here in al khobar, saudi arabia for four years now and i need to have a new NBI CLEARANCE for my future employer in canada…. how can i get a NEW NBI CLEARANCE without going home to Philippines? Please kindly help me about my situation… Thank you and God bless!!!

    vincent=ksa

    Hi Vincent, please see below from the NBI FAQ:

    I AM PRESENTLY WORKING ABROAD. HOW CAN I GET A NBI CLEARANCE WITHOUT GOING HOME TO THE PHILIPPINES ?

    - You can visit the nearest Philippine Consulate Office and asked for a Fingerprint Card Form.

    a.) Fingerprint Card Form – fill up the personal data called for on both sides of this card truthfully and legibly.

    b.) Request the assistance/endorsement of the nearest Philippines Consulate Office for the police agency in your locality to have your fingerprints impressed (ROLLED IMPRESSION) on the appropriate spaces. The officer/person who fingerprinted you should sign his name state his official designation on the space provided for the purpose in the card.

    c.) In case you are a married woman, the order of writing your name is as follows:

    c.1) Your maiden surname (father’s surname).

    c.2) Your husband’s surname.

    c.3) Your first name or given name.

    c.4) Your maternal surname (family name of your mother)

    d.) Attach a latest copy of your 2”x2” photograph (white background), taken within three (3) months before this application at the appropriate box in the fingerprint card form.

    Upon completion of this requirement, please send back your form to us and enclose Money Order in the sum of Php 200.00 or any currency/bankdraft of its equivalent which is negotiable in the Philippines payable to the Director, National Bureau of Investigation, Taft Avenue, Ermita 1000 Manila, Philippines.

    We will mail to you the corresponding clearance certificate after we have processed your application papers.

    Upon receipt of your clearance certificate, please examine it for the presence of the embossed NBI DRY SEAL at its lower left portion, the clearance is invalid without it. Also, you must affix your clear and properly taken THUMBPRINT on the space provided for it in the clearance certificate before submitting it to your end-user, otherwise, your clearance will be subjected for further verification/authentication and will cause the delay of your immigration requirements.

    Posted by VINCENT | September 17, 2008, 7:16 am
  10. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR IMMEDIATE RESPONSE……. I REALLY APPRECIATE UR GOOD SERVICE TO AN OFW LIKE ME………
    GOD BLESS U…., THE NBI AND GOD BLESS THE PHILIPPINES!!!!

    Posted by VINCENT | September 17, 2008, 9:25 pm
  11. SIR/MADAME,

    I WAS VERY HAPPY ABOUT UR IMMEDIATE RESPONSE ABOUT MY CONCERN REGARDING THE RENEWAL OF MY NBI CLEARANCE OUTSIDE PHILIPPINES… BUT I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THE RESPONSE OF THE PHILIPPINE CONSULATE OFFICE HERE IN AL KHOBAR, KSA…. THEY TOLD ME THEY DONT HAVE THIS FINGERPRINT CARD FORM AND I NEED TO GO TO RIYADH,KSA PERSONALLY TO GET THIS FINGERPRINT CARD FORM…. RIYADH IS AROUND 4-6HOUS TRAVEL FROM HERE AND IT WOULD BE IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO GO THERE SINCE I HAVE A WORK AND ITS FAR FROM MY PLACE. IS THERE ANY OTHER WAY I CAN GET THIS FINGERPRINT CARD FORM??? I NEED IT VERY BADLY FOR MY APPLICATION IN CANADA. CAN U JUST SEND ME AN EMAILED COPY OF THIS AND IL JUST PRINT IT AND GO BACK TO THE PHIL CONSULATE OFFICE???? CAN I ALSO SEND SOMEONE IN MANILA TO GET IT FOR ME…??? PLS HELP ME NBI!!! I HAVE ALREADY AN OLD NBI CLEARANCE HERE WITH ME… HOPE ALSO OUR PHIL CONSULATE OFFICE WILL HAVE THE HEART TO FULLY HELP THE OFWs LIKE ME SO THAT WE CAN BE PROUD OF OURSELVES……..THAT WE ARE FILIPINOS WORKING IN A FOREIGN LAND…….

    THANK SO MUCH AND GOD SPEED!!!!!!!!!!

    VINCENT-KSA

    Posted by VINCENT | September 20, 2008, 10:01 pm
  12. thanks for your efforts at posting this. i’m sure it has helped a lot of people who do not know the first thing in getting an NBI clearance.

    Posted by vic | October 1, 2008, 6:34 pm
  13. this is a pretty useful post. i am about to put it to the test this week, only i don’t know where this carriedo office is. last time i tried it in cebu, a few months ago, it took me half a day in line and two weeks to claim the printout. i imagine this must be a main office for the database check to be so fast.

    could you add instructions on how to get there? a map, perhaps?

    Posted by behindhiddendoors | October 13, 2008, 10:39 am
  14. Thanks to your post, I’m confident that I’ll be able to get my clearance at Carriedo after my day ends on monday (2pm) and get it to my HR rep before her day ends (6pm).

    ‘Di naman pala matagal sa Carriedo.. yey!

    Posted by kai | October 18, 2008, 3:17 pm
  15. hi, help nman pls., ask ko lang kung pdi ba ko kumuha ng nbi clearance using my name appeared on my birth certificate, pero iba kc ang ginamit kong name simula nuon pa man, kc all the while alam ko un ang tutuo kong name lately ko lang nalaman na iba pala ung name ko nuong mag request ako ng copy ng birth cert. ko sa NSO, kc may balak akong kumuha ng passport. tnx.

    Posted by jen tayawa | November 20, 2008, 10:42 am
  16. my requirements p ba s pagkuha ng NBI clearance??

    salamt po

    Posted by neil | November 23, 2008, 11:46 pm
  17. ask lang po kun makkakuha ba ako ng nbi clearance khit deported po ako sa jon last 3 yrs ago?d kya e2 maapek2han salamat po magpapasingl status sna po ako salamat po

    Posted by jay | December 13, 2008, 11:56 am
  18. makakuha po ako ng reanewal sa nbi khit dpo ako nakabayad sa ctibank d kya e2 maapek2han???salamat po

    Posted by roselle | December 13, 2008, 11:57 am
  19. hello ma’am / sir,

    Pls let me know how to process the NBI clearance of my wife with her Change status situation.Were planning to go to NBI office this coming weekend,and im just wondering what will be her requirement.

    THANKS and Im looking forward for ur reply..

    respectfully yours,
    christopher

    Posted by chris | December 16, 2008, 7:25 am
  20. hello ma’am / sir,

    Pls let me know how to process the NBI clearance of my wife with her Change status situation.Were planning to go to NBI office this coming weekend,and im just wondering what will be her requirement.

    THANKS and Im looking forward for ur reply..

    respectfully yours,
    christopher

    Posted by chris | December 17, 2008, 10:34 am
    • hi were you able to change the status of your wife?? please help me what are the procedures to change the status in your nbi clearance and how long will it take?? please respond.

      Posted by jz | December 20, 2009, 5:46 pm
  21. makakakuha po ba ako ng nbi na lahat ng fingerprint sa kamay requirment lang po sa pagkuha ko ng fbi cleerance

    Posted by jing | February 13, 2009, 9:17 pm
  22. is it possible to have 2 NBI clearance?
    one is for VISA SEAMAN.. and the other is for LOCAL EMPLOYMENT…
    plz help…

    Posted by jayson | February 16, 2009, 1:38 pm
  23. Thank you so much for this. It was very informative :)

    Posted by Krisha | March 8, 2009, 5:57 pm
  24. im working abroard right now and im going to apply for my permanent residency here in canada. i need my nbi clearance, so i went in the rcmp here in fort saint john to ask for my finger prints that i needed for requenting my nbi in phil. so my question is do i need to get a form for the nbi or my finger prints is enough for me to request my nbi in philippines. and one more thing i lost this personal copy of my nbi when i was in taiwan. do i required to submit my personal copy or my finger prints here is enough to request my nbi clearnce in philippines. please i need your responce asap. thanks a lot.

    Posted by CRISTINA | March 21, 2009, 5:08 am
  25. HOW DO I KNOW IF MY NAME HAS CRIMINAL ISSUE?

    Posted by AI | May 4, 2009, 6:45 pm
  26. may nabasa ba kayo na not valid without dry seal and fingerprint kc hindi ko na inipresent at kinuha ko nalang

    Posted by Rick | August 17, 2009, 4:38 pm
  27. can i get nbi clearance even saturday or sunday???

    Posted by Roldan Aceitunas | September 4, 2009, 11:23 am
  28. I thought I was the only one posting this very informative topic, hehe. Good day!

    Posted by Arcon Agbuya | September 15, 2009, 8:06 pm
  29. gdpm po ask kulang po kung anung kylangan na requirments pag kmuha ng nbi andito po kc ako ngaun sa japan asahan ko po ang sagot nyo mraming salamat po…

    Posted by honey | September 20, 2009, 7:41 pm
  30. hey groundhog dude. thanks for sharing this out with everyone. it really helped me out since im taking up my licensure exam for brunswick, and this is sadly one of the requirements… :)) your detailed narration of step by step procedure was even more helpful than the one i found on the website of NBI itself. lolx.

    Posted by jill | November 6, 2009, 7:24 am
  31. Dear Sir/MAdaám,

    I am currently working here in canada for almost 8 months. I’m gonna apply for LAnded Immigrant, I have noticed that the NBI clearance is required for the application. The Philippine consulate is pretty far from my place. I’ve lost the original copy of my NBI clearance only I’ve got is the photocopy. How can I renew and get NBI clearance from your office? I anticipate your immediate reponse for this matter. thank you!

    Christian A. Driz
    Estevan, Saskatchewan- Canada

    Posted by Christian A. Driz | November 17, 2009, 3:41 pm
    • sirt good day po! tanong ko lng po sa inyo kung nakakuha po kayo nang nbi clearance nyo kahit wla po kayo copy. kz po kukuha po ako kaso na wla po ang copy ko nang nbi clearance. nandito rin po ako sa canada. ano po ginawa nyo? maraming salamat po!

      Posted by joven | May 19, 2010, 7:22 am
    • sir good day po! tanong ko lng po sa inyo kung nakakuha po kayo nang nbi clearance nyo kahit wla po kayo copy. kz po kukuha po ako kaso na wla po ang copy ko nang nbi clearance. nandito rin po ako sa canada. ano po ginawa nyo? maraming salamat po!

      Posted by joven | May 19, 2010, 7:22 am
  32. ask ko po sana if need pa ng finger print khit renew lng po,me copy po ako nun dati ko kso po more than 10 years n po ako bgao mg renew?salamat po

    Posted by marygrace d.a. magat | January 2, 2010, 7:08 pm
  33. pde b kunin ang NBI clearance sa aming munisipyo?

    Posted by karlo salvador | January 11, 2010, 4:11 pm
  34. FYI, this NBI IN QUIAPO-CARRIEDO IS NOW CLOSED. The new one is on the 5th floor of Victory Mall in Monumento. My own transaction yesterday took around an hour and a half (10:30AM-12NN). But I got a “hit”, meaning there’s another name as mine with an existing NBI record. I can only be cleared after further verification and was told to go back after 3 working days. Good news, there’s no need to pay any entrance fee. :)

    Posted by girlmace | March 11, 2010, 1:28 pm
  35. Government is not a hopeless case, after all. Belgium. Hmmm. When and how long?

    Posted by chrisz | March 12, 2010, 2:32 pm
  36. ahmmmm can i ask something do i get nbi clearance if im 17 years old but im running to 18 next year january 22…???

    Posted by rona | October 9, 2010, 10:50 am
  37. Why is it that i requested for my NBI clearance in QC City Hall last Tuesday and It was scheduled to be release this 22? I thought it will only consumed 2-3 days for processing and then release it the next day? I need it for my local employment..

    Posted by Vhinz | March 14, 2011, 10:43 am
  38. thanks big help….ask ko lang do i need to bring any certificate?/ life brgy clearance or police??

    Posted by ejay | April 2, 2011, 3:23 pm
  39. sir good day,
    how can i get my nbi clearance and when i can get it? actually i had schedule to get my clearance on june 21 at malaybalay city but unfortunely my schedule thus not fit

    Posted by eddie paul p gargar | July 10, 2011, 6:16 am
  40. i just wud lyk to ask,wat if the fingerprints are not visible because of an allergy,will that person still can obtain a clearance?

    Posted by rica | October 17, 2011, 10:25 pm
  41. just would like to know what to do if you are married and did not use your husband’s surname ever since marriage. i’ll be applying for another nbi clearance for travel abroad. and i declared single on my previous nbi application . PLEASE HELP!

    Posted by beachy | October 26, 2011, 10:33 pm
  42. I am currently working here in canada for almost 11 months. I’m gonna apply for LAnded Immigrant, I have noticed that the NBI clearance is required for the application. The Philippine consulate is pretty far from my place. I’ve lost the original copy of my NBI clearance only I’ve got is the photocopy. How can I renew and get NBI clearance from your office? I anticipate your immediate reponse for this matter. thank you!

    Posted by DXAS | February 7, 2012, 4:22 pm
  43. Hi i was supposed to get my clearance last dec 29… Can i still get it even it was almost 2 wks frm d date?

    Posted by Zarah grace | December 8, 2013, 1:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Categories

Archive

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

