//
you're reading...
Biking

Bugarin ride, powered by Cloud 9

Yesterday, I had my first ride to Bugarin. Bugarin is a town somewhere in Rizal, famous as a long bike ride destination, a sort of Mecca for the biking faithful. We set off from Club Manila East in Taytay, with my tri-buddies Butch Rayos and Anthony Eisma.

We started with a group of Taytay cyclists, regulars of Bugarin, at around 8am. It was a slow pace initially, but I couldn’t keep up with the biking pack, as they weaved their way among jeepneys and tricycles along the highway. I did manage to catch up, as the group had a stopover in a place they call Kabayo (because of a horse statue), about halfway through. The three of us decided to proceed, as we figured these guys would certainly catch up with us. Mercifully, after 35 kilometers of biking, we stopped for a little respite in a small restaurant just before the uphill climb to Bugarin.

I pulled out my Cloud 9 chocolate bar, the everydayman’s equivalent of a Powerbar, and guzzled up a bottle of C2. In addition, I had coffee, two bananas, and a somewhat huge serving of puto (there wasn’t anything smaller, probably portioned for bikers hehe). A Lance Armstrong quote whizzed through my mind, of cyclists as eating machines, eating and drinking constantly from the get-go. I felt no guilt stuffing myself up.

A lone cyclist with a dust mask appears from the distance, and stops to chat with us. It turns out to be a 65-year old Finnish guy, settled in Antipolo with his Filipina wife, trying to catch up with his group that had left much earlier, also to Bugarin. We invite him to join us.

We finally take off, the four of us. It was a nice ride uphill: the roads were smooth asphalt, the weather was cool. Good thing I had just recently upgraded my road bike to a compact crankset, which made the ride all the more pleasant, although it wasn’t really apparent as I was dripping sweat like a faucet. In contrast, I turn around and see the Finnish guy whistling, and he’s riding on a steel bike with these huge plates!

Bugarin broncosIt was a good 10 kilometers up, and we finally reach the peak. Nothing really spectacular, just a roadside restaurant, with a long bike rack as its distinguishing feature. There were a lot of bikers as there was a race earlier. We stop for a while and chat with some of them; in the meantime, I refuelled with another C2 and my second Cloud 9.

It was a fast ride going down, as you can imagine, with Butch and Harvey the Finn, leading the way, or I should say leaving us in the dust. We and Harvey separate ways somewhere along the Kabayo landmark, as his way leads to Antipolo. We have a final stopover somewhere in Cardona; gobbling my 3rd Cloud 9 and two bottles of Sprite (the store didn’t have C2). It was a good thing we stopped; I thought we were already close, but I found out later it was still ten kilometers to go, with a couple of killer hills to boot!

Finally, we arrive in Club Manila East at around 1:30 pm. I have my customary recovery drink, Hershey’s Chocomilk, and feast on some Jollibee spaghetti and burgers. Total distance on my odometer: 88.5 kilometers. What a day!

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Bugarin ride, powered by Cloud 9

  1. u must have some bike to climb bugarin. when i was in manila i tried that on a mountain bike and although the chain ring is small i cudnt conquer that friggin’ mountain in one sitting. lolz. ride safe po🙂

    Posted by cathy | November 29, 2007, 9:40 am
  2. Hehe as I said I was powered by Cloud 9🙂

    Posted by jpalana | November 29, 2007, 1:20 pm
  3. Hello. May I know where Bugarin is? I’m from Taytay but I don’t know exactly where Bugarin. Perhaps you can help with the directions. Me and my buddies are planning to go to Daranak Falls. Is that near Daranak area? Thank you for sharing your bike escapades. More power.

    Mike

    Posted by Mikaz | May 5, 2008, 11:13 pm
  4. Hi Mikaz, I think Daranak is somewhere near Antipolo. Bugarin is further east pa, going around Laguna Lake. You’ll pass by Morong, Cardona, Pililla, etc. Basta alam ko just go through the main highway, and at every fork that you see, turn left hehe.
    Seriously, best bet to get to Bugarin is to join the group of weekend cyclists at Club Manila East. You won’t miss them. They meet every Saturday and Sunday, and leave for Bugarin around 7 am.

    Posted by Joma | May 6, 2008, 12:46 pm
  5. Hi, our group went to Bugarin yesterday (06/09/08) all the way from Pasig & back with our mountain bikes. I almost consumed all the extra joss in every stopover stores we had. hehehe. We logged 102 Kms! Whew! I cant believe it myself!

    Posted by Jasongd | June 10, 2008, 3:13 pm
  6. Hi Jasongd, nice going, we were actually there at Bugarin yesterday, but arrived there around 1:30pm. Maybe we can meet up next time!

    Posted by Joma | June 10, 2008, 3:35 pm
  7. Bugarin is not a town on its own. It is a sitio of Barangay Halayhayin of Pililla, Rizal.

    Posted by Yo Aquino | September 28, 2011, 8:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Categories

Top Clicks

  • None

Archive

November 2007
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
