//
you're reading...
Manila guide

Philippine legal forms on the Net

Last Friday, Nov 16, 2007, I bumped my car on a tree while pulling out of the parking area in our house on the way to work. This is of course something I do everyday (pulling out, not bumping trees); on that occasion, for some reason, I missed seeing the tree and consequently dented the trunk of my car. I was surprised at how big the damage was. The gentle bump that I thought it was, produced a very noticeable dent that needed some major repair. Of course, I couldn’t really blame the tree for not getting out of the way, so I was really upset at myself for being so stupid🙂

Later, in the afternoon, I went to the car shop to have it checked. They gave me a quotation, and I was advised of the requirements for claiming insurance, one of which was an affidavit describing the mishap. I dutifully went to a notary public along Buendia St. at the back of Makati Med; you know, one of these stalls that are always to be seen near government buildings. Anyway, the guys there told me they only do affidavits of loss, so they advised me to look for a certain lawyer in the building across.

I had to go back to the office so I didn’t bother to go. Of course, as soon as I arrived at my desk, I did a search on Google, with very low expectations of finding anything. I was pleasantly surprised to find that, yes, there’s a site with Philippine legal forms, and with the exact affidavit that I was looking for: “Affidavit of Damage to Vehicle – Hitting a Post While Backing”. The only thing I had to do was to modify the template accordingly, then have it notarized with the same guys in Buendia, costing me only 50 pesos.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Categories

Top Clicks

  • None

Archive

November 2007
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
